SCC/MLA Home   |   Renew or Join Us!   |   Donate

SCCMLASouth Central Chapter of the Medical Library Association

Fostering the Art and Science of Health Sciences Library Service

Committees 2021-2022

Unless otherwise noted, committee members serve two-year terms, which run from the annual meeting to the next annual meeting (October to October).

Awards & Scholarships

Administers the various awards and scholarships funded by SCC/MLA to recognize and encourage professional excellence among its members and potential members.

Name State Term
Amy Corder, Chair LA 2020-2022
Kelleen Maluski NM 2020-2022
Will Olmstadt LA 2020-2022
Stephanie Shippey TX 2020-2022
James Sprinkle LA 2020-2022
Lou Ann Thompson OK 2020-2022
Ingrid Hendrix
Jim Marcus
 NYNJ 2021-2023
Yumi Yaguchi
 TX 2021-2023
Peace Ossom Williamson, Chapter Council Representative TX Board Liaison


Maintains the SCC/MLA Bylaws in accordance with those of MLA, proposes revisions when necessary, and holds bylaws revision elections in accordance with the provisions set forth in the Bylaws.

Name State Term
Christine Gaspard, Chair TX 2019-2021
Stewart Brower OK 2020-2022
John Carter AR 2020-2022
Keya LeeTX2021-2023
Jodi PhilbrickTX2021-2023
Linné Girouard, Parliamentarian TX ex officio
Dena Hanson, HLIS Bylaws Committee TX ex officio
Dede Rios President-Elect TX Board Liaison


Facilitates communication between the various individuals responsible for the Chapter’s internal and external communications.

Name State Term
Roxanne Bogucka, Chair TX 2020-2022
Amy Faltinek, Member at Large, Chair-ElectTX 2021-2023
Marlene Bishop, Newsletter Co-Editor LA ex officio
Jon Crossno, Wild Apricot Co-Administrator TX ex officio
Montie' Dobbins, Wild Apricot Co-Administrator LA ex officio
Brian D. Lewin, Membership ChairAR 2021-2022
Peace Ossom Williamson, Chapter Council Representative TX ex officio
Keith Pickett, Chapter Council Alternate LA ex officio
Lorraine Sheldon, Newsletter Co-Editor TX ex officio
Joy Summers-Ables, Listserv Manager OK ex officio
Sandra Yates, Archivist TX ex officio
David Duggar, President LA Board Liaison

Continuing Education

Evaluates the continuing education needs of SCC/MLA members and provides courses to meet those needs.

Name State Term
Tara Malone, Chair OK 2020-2022
Rachel Blume TX 2020-2022
Laura Rey TX 2020-2022
Erin Ware LA 2020-2022
Stefani Gafford AR 2021-2023
Joanne Romano TX 2021-2023
Deidra Woodson LA 2021-2023
Susan Steelman, Past CE Chair AR 2019-2022
David Duggar, President & Program Co-Chair LA Board Liaison


Promotes the MLA credentialing program in the Chapter and assists members in preparing for the program.

Name State Term
Phil Jo, Chair OK 2020-2022
Julie Schiavo LA 2020-2022
Connie ManningAR2021-2023
Lauren WojcikTX2021-2023
Katie Prentice, Past President TX Board Liaison


Serves in an advisory capacity to the Executive Board regarding all matters relating to the budget.

Name State Term
Katie Prentice, Past President & Chair TX 2021-2022
Jon Crossno, Past Treasurer TX ex officio
David Duggar, President LA ex officio
Dede Rios, President-Elect TX ex officio
Carol Seiler, HLIS Treasurer TX ex officio
Steve Self, Treasurer TX ex officio
Sally Bowler-Hill, Member at Large NM 2021-2023
 Jodi Philbrick, Member at LargeTX2021-2022
Lisa Smith, Member at Large AR 2020-2022

Fund Raising

Conducts fund raising activities and coordinates the SCC fund raising activities of other committees and sections so that duplication of efforts shall be minimized.

Name State Term
Kathy Carter, Co-Chair TX 2020-2022
Emme Lopez, Co-Chair TX 2020-2022
John Bayhi TX 2020-2022
Matthew (Matt) Cross TX 2020-2022
Sonya Lemke AR 2020-2022
Emrys Moreau OK 2020-2022
Tara Atkins TX 2021-2023
Meaghan Farrell TX 2021-2023
Susan Steelman AR 2021-2023
Steve Self, Treasurer TX Board Liaison


Establishes a mechanism for periodically updating the Chapter history; places photos of historical interest on the SCC/MLA Web site; conducts oral histories of the Chapter’s most prominent members; establishes an efficient and effective method for securing preserving, and organizing the Chapter’s archival materials; and finds a safe home for the SCC/MLA archives.

Name State Term
Marilyn Goff, Chair TX 2019-2022
Stephanie Atkins Sharpe, Chair-Elect, Member at Large TX 2021-2023
Kaylee Youngblood, Member at Large TX 2020-2022
Sandra Y. Desjardins, Member at Large TX 2021-2023
Kathy Kerdolff LA 2021-2023
Lindsay Blake, Past Secretary AR ex officio
Montie' Dobbins, Wild Apricot Co-Administrator LA ex officio
Sonya Lemke, Secretary AR ex officio
Sandra Yates, Archivist TX ex officio
Katie Prentice, Past President TX Board Liaison

Local Arrangements

Secures a hotel for the annual meeting, provides hospitality, promotes the meeting through publicity, prepares registration packets, registers members attending, and plans all social events. [An asterisk (*) denotes SCC/MLA membership.]

Name State Term
*Rachel Helbing, Co-Chair, Treasurer TX 2020-2022
*Adela Justice, Co-Chair TX 2020-2022
*Stephanie Atkins Sharpe TX 2021-2022
*Ana Corral TX 2021-2022
*Matthew (Matt) Cross TX 2021-2022
*Darlene Ennis TX 2021-2022
*Amy Faltinek TX 2021-2022
*Linné Girouard TX 2021-2022
*Marilyn Goff TX 2021-2022
*Sheila Henderson TX 2021-2022
*Lee Andrew Hilyer TX 2021-2022
*Travis Holder TX 2021-2022
*Anne Howard TX 2021-2022
*Louise Kidder TX 2021-2022
*Molly Knapp TX 2021-2022
*Stefanie Lapka TX 2021-2022
*Keya Lee TX 2021-2022
*Kelleen Maluski NM 2021-2022
*Margaret Peloquin TX 2021-2022
*Cathy Pepper TX 2021-2022
*Katie PrenticeTX2021-2022
*Valerie Prilop TX 2021-2022
*Christina Seeger TX 2021-2022
*Sonja Settle OK 2021-2022
Emma Silva TX 2021-2022
Emily Tuck TX 2021-2022
*Beatriz VarmanTX2021-2022
*Karen Vargas TX 2021-2022
*Laura Wright LA 2021-2022


Recruits new members for the Chapter, maintains a current and accurate membership list, and provides information on all matters relating to membership.

Name State Term
Brian D. Lewin, Chair TX 2020-2022
Elizabeth Cruces TX 2020-2022
Laura Haygood TX 2020-2022
Sonya Palmer OK 2020-2022
Tenley Sablatzky TX 2020-2022
Sheryl "Lynn" HamiltonOK2021-2023
Katie O'BryantLA2021-2023
Amanda OkandanNM2021-2023
Logan WhittingtonAR2021-2023
Jon Crossno, Wild Apricot Co-AdministratorTXex officio
Montie' Dobbins, Wild Apricot Co-AdministratorLAex officio
Steve Self, Treasurer TX Board Liaison


Selects a slate of two candidates for each prescribed office and prepares, distributes, collects, and counts the ballots.

Name State Term
Katie Prentice, Past President & Chair TX 2021-2022
Michelle Green OK 2021-2022
Sarah Jackson LA 2021-2022
Sloane Kelley AR 2021-2022
Melissa Rethlefsen NM 2021-2022


Studies and evaluates the needs of the members and plans an annual meeting program to meet those identified needs.

Name State Term
David Duggar, President, Chair LA 2021-2022
Rachel Helbing, LAC Co-Chair, LAC Treasurer TX 2021-2022
Adela Justice, LAC Co-Chair TX 2021-2022
Tara Malone, CE Chair OK 2021-2022
Tara AllisonTX 2021-2022
Ashley BrockTX 2021-2022
Sandra DesjardinsTX2021-2022
Dawn FieldTX 2021-2022


Promotes interest in research among SCC/MLA members, fosters research‐related skills of SCC/MLA members, and promotes research activities in the Chapter.

Name State Term
Erik Wilkinson, Chair TX 2019-2021
Toni Hoberecht OK 2020-2022
Peace Ossom Williamson TX 2020-2022
Melanie Sorsby TX 2020-2022
Stefanie LapkaTX2021-2023
Alyssa MigdalskiUT2021-2023
April SchweikhardOK2021-2023
Katie Prentice, Past President TX Board Liaison

© 2015-2024 South Central Chapter of the Medical Library Association (SCC/MLA). All rights reserved.
Please send comments regarding the website to the SCC/MLA Webmaster.
Privacy Policy | SCC/MLA on Facebook | SCC/MLA on YouTube

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software